Book Review, Classic, Fiction

Book Review: To Kill A Mocking Bird by Harper Lee

I have my stars to thank for each and every read I’ve got my hands on so far. ‘To Kill A Mocking Bird came as a highly recommended read and once I started out on it…, I just flowed with it.

I had a tough time when starting out though, since I was still nursing Brida‘s hangover, but I later on warmed up to it with each and every single page I was flipping.

I’d love to share each and single bit of this awesomely written book by Harper Lee (her soul rest in peace) but I’ll try not to spoil it for you if you’ve not read it yet.

Review

Title: To Kill A Mocking Bird

Author: Harper Lee

Category: Fiction/ Classic

To_Kill_A_Mocking_Bird-_Linda_Barasa_Reads[1]
To Kill A Mocking 
The book is of a story set  in the early 19th century, in the Southern part of United States, Alabama, at a county town called Maycomb. Through the eyes of Scout- Jean Finch, Harper Lee lets us into the lives of a family that’s faces criticism and mockery from not only the society but also their family members because of their fathers line of duty as a lawyer.

Atticus Finch, Scouts father, sits in  the town’s legislature and was tasked with what seemed like the most difficult case, of defending a black man, Tom Robinson, after he was accused for raping a white girl, Mayella Ewell.

Atticus Finch was widowed when Scout was only two years old and he never thought of re-marrying again. He decided to take on the parenthood life head on, and raise his two kids, Scout and Jem, best way he could. And even though he thought he was a failure, on a scale of 1 to 10 I’d give him a ten!

His intelligence and way of living rubbed off in his children in a mighty way. Scout and Jem grew up respecting everyone in Maycomb town including the colored black race. Calpurnia, their house help, also played a major role in their upbringing and would take it upon herself to ensure that the kids were well-behaved and respectful even to their peers. Upon joining school, Scout already knew how to read and write something that intimated her teacher when Scout could ask a question or answer questions in class.

Before the hearing of Tom Robinson’s case, Scout and Jem were frightened and at times had nightmares of their father been eliminated by a gang that found him threatening to the case. They would sneak out at night without the knowledge of their Aunt Alexandra who had moved in with them, and go check up on their father whenever he stayed out late. On two occasions, Jem and Scout were able to save their father from the angry gang that would pay him uncalled visits.

As threatening and frightening things got, Atticus didn’t drop or back out of the case. He kept assuring his children that everything was okay even though his facial expression said otherwise.

Come the day of the hearing, Scout in the company of Jem and their friend Dill sneaked in the court room and sat through the entire hearing witnessing how their father handled the case without his knowledge. When Tom Robinson was accused for the charges, the children were more devastated than their father something that led Jem to be angry with Scout one day when she brought the subject up.

As fate will have it, Bob Ewell dies when he tried to come after Jem and Scout as a payback for Atticus defending Tom Robinson. Atticus is convinced that it’s Jem who stubbed him but Sheriff Tate Heck, convinces him by telling him that Bob fell on his knife he was carrying and dies. Wrapping this up by bringing in Tom Robinson Mr. Tate emphasizes by saying;

“ There’s a black boy dead for no reason, and the man responsible for it’s dead. Let the dead bury the dead this time, Mr. Finch. Let the dead bury the dead.” 

When reading I looked forward to when I could get the meaning of the title ‘To Kill A Mockingbird.’ Atticus hints this when he tells Jem;

“ Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”  

But still this wasn’t a satisfactory hint but towards the end I got to learn that Tom Robinson was the real Mockingbird in this context, and Bob Ewell accusing him for rape charges was a sin. A sin that costed him his employment and more so his life after getting an innocent man convicted and sent to jail.

‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ is an interesting read one that’s easy to relate with, suitable for all ages. Harper Lee nailed on the vocabulary as well which means you might need to consult your dictionary time to time.

I’m not good at convincing, but if you are planing to read it.., dive in NOW don’t wait another minute. I promise you’ll enjoy the ride. And for those looking for what to read next, consider this book. It is a MUST read.

‘Go Set A Watchman’ is a continuation of Mockingbird which I’ll be checking out soon. I have been consumed by Harper Lee you guys. Am gone!

Have you read ‘To Kill A Mocking Bird?’ What are your thoughts?

Currently reading; The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin.

Thanks for stopping by.

Love

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: To Kill A Mocking Bird by Harper Lee”

  1. Linda, You tackled the review well. And Harper Lee,in the other side- resting, will be glad that you never mocked the mockingbird masterpiece , instead you did it justice.

    When I read the book I remember making comments that Tom Robinson mirrored the intricacies of ‘black’ being misjudged and curved to resemble trouble in shape and color. I admired the bravery of Finch, I pitied Tom, Ewell was not any well but a well filled with spiteful hatred and misplaced vengeance; I thanked sheriff for saving Finch , and Harper for keeping him alive.
    I loved the name Mayella. I wished I would spare it for my unborn daughter. But what if it leads to killing another ‘mockingbird’? Pardonne-Moi !!

    Though I must say that before I read this ‘bluejay’ book I thought it was a guide for bird hunting. I hope people won’t make the same mistakes I made- misjudging a book. Tell me Linda, is it because I was only few steps away from reading the myths of coyote?

    It’s a book I would recommend for breakfast, for your honeymoon relaxation, and as your pillow mate. If you haven’t read it look for it and when you finally find it you’ll remember Jaguar’s dictum “usiende mbali nami hata one centimetre away “

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well well well! Looks like you and me have the same sentiments on EVERYTHING related ‘To Kill A Mocking Bird’ I liked the name Mayella in fact I LOVE it but am asking myself, just what if? I think Ill have it christened or something and cross my fingers that my ‘girl’ will never learn where I got it from.
      The title of book kept me from not reading it in a long while I wish I didn’t fall the judgement but am glad I finally did. Maybe I should edit my post and include your last paragraph in it. I just love how you’ve concluded your recommendation for the book.
      Thank you for visiting my baby blog.
      And oh now this song won’t leave my head…., haha have a good day

      Like

  2. It’s enthralling to know our perspectives shelter beneath a mutual parasol. If you love the name Mayella then give it a try as long as you don’t reveal the source…
    Keep writing these good reviews. As a traveller and a tourist of literary collectibles I’ll always take a flight to your world and stop by to read, to spill my views and to learn your book secrets . Happy baby blog , mayhap, happy Mayella blog.
    ***
    Sip from my glass with this James Russell Lowell straw “There’s another grace in this girl which I must in modesty omit, but I love the truth.” The grace of reading, the grace of sharing !!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

