Poetry

Late Post: World Poetry Day

Happy World Poetry Day bibliophiles!

I know am a day late with this post but it never hurts to appreciate the literary work in the world of books.

Yesterday marked the World Poetry Day but unfortunately, I was late in coming up with something to share, additionally I had an exam paper I was sitting for based on a novel written by my country man, Nga’ang’a Mbugua, Different Colours. I’ll be posting the review on it soon. It’s such an awesome read.

Back to the subject matter, based on my previous post, 14 by Nanya Kooper, I shared my highlights and disappointment on poetry work. But that aside, let’s take time to appreciate the phenomenon women and men who intertwine words, wove them intelligently, to give us nothing but the best of poems and poetry books. And if this also counts for the spoken word category, who I really, really love and admire their talent, we appreciate you!

We’ve been having quite a number of poetry books to read in my book club which mostly come as additional texts to the book(s) of the week but I’ll just list a couple of what I’ve read and loved with brief descriptions from Goodreads.

And now in no particular order;

MUSINGS

Musings of a Tangled Tounge by Yemi Adesanya 

Musings of a Tangled Tongue is a brave new entry, an exciting collection of poems that cut across a range of subjects: love, life, lust, adventure, work-life balance, etc. The fresh, exciting, mischievous, and experimental style of the author makes this a fun addition to any poetry lover’s library.

 MILK AND HONEY

milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

WARSAN SHIRE

Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth by Warsan Shire

What elevates ‘teaching my mother how to give birth’, what gives the poems their disturbing brilliance, is Warsan Shire’s ability to give simple, beautiful eloquence to the veiled world where sensuality lives in the dominant narrative of Islam; reclaiming the more nuanced truths of earlier times – as in Tayeb Salih’s work – and translating to the realm of lyric the work of the likes of Nawal El Saadawi. As Rumi said, “Love will find its way through all languages on its own”; in ‘teaching my mother how to give birth’, Warsan’s debut pamphlet, we witness the unearthing of a poet who finds her way through all preconceptions to strike the heart directly. Warsan Shire is a Kenyan-born Somali poet and writer who is based in London. Born in 1988, she is an artist and activist who uses her work to document narratives of journey and trauma. Warsan has read her work internationally, including recent readings in South Africa, Italy and Germany, and her poetry has been translated into Italian, Spanish and Portuguese.

And most recently…,

img_20170316_113436_056.jpg

14 by Nanya Kooper

Yet to be listed in the Goodreads site, 14 is a collection of poems based on love and appreciation of love altogether.

The book which is less than 33 pages, offers an opportunity to readers to explore the beautiful woven words of love appreciation alongside the etched pictures which gives the texts a visual reference of the particular poem.

The book has a total of 14 poems thus the title ‘14.’

Of all these poetry texts, I loved and related more with Rupi Kaur’s, milk and honey. Brilliant poetry text.

And guess what guys, last week I met Koleka Putuma, a South African Poet who was visiting Kenya for an event. As usual, I didn’t hesitate to get a copy of her new poetry book, ‘Collective Amnesia’ and have it autographed as well. I’ll blog about that end of this week.

Here’s a picture of us

img_pgsx9w.jpg

I don’t mean to blow my own trumpet, but it looks like am keeping track with the involvement of literary events in Nairobi.

I also wish to give myself a bit of a push and blog  a poetry book every other two weeks. This should be achievable!

Okay bibliophiles, that sums my contribution to ‘World Poetry Day.’  I challenge you to blog about the same and indulge yourselves in poetry texts.

Please share some of the poetry texts you found interesting and regard as a must read in the comment section. TIA

1 thought on “Late Post: World Poetry Day”

Leave a Reply

