Book Review, Poetry

Book Review: milk and honey by rupi kaur

Excerpt

we all move forward when

we recognize how resilient

and striking the women

around us are

 

Hey hey hey!

Lol Fat Albert just came to mind and I was like hey hey hey. I want to believe that your June is off to a good start and if it’s too early to tell, trust you me, we are in for a good ride in this second half of the year.

I’m back with my weekend poetry edition and today I’ll be featuring rupi kaur’s milk and honey poetry text. A powerful poetry text that addresses subjects that are not limited to femininity, abuse, love, loss, hurting and healing from heartbreak and more importantly the vulnerability of womanhood.

Review

Title: milk and honey

Author: Rupi Kaur

Category: Poetry

The book is divided into four sections; the hurting, the loving, the breaking and the healing, with each of these four sections tackling the four subjects in the most unwavering manner I’ve ever encountered in a single book.

Rupi Kaur’s style of writing is so breathtaking that will have (if you haven’t read it yet) you intrigued and flipping through the pages in awe. I found it to be a very thought-provoking poetry book and it was evident the poems borrowed a lot of real life experiences because the emotions were so pronounced and I related with most of them. I particularly loved the healing section more as it challenges one to be more appreciative of themselves and stresses on females taking self-pride and value of themselves. We as a human race collectively need to be comfortable with who we are and it’s at that point that we’ll appreciate those around us. You can only add value to someone when you are of value.

‘milk and honey’ is a blend of both short and long poems but those that can be easily understood and articulated. I’ve read the book more than three times because it takes but a few minutes to wrap it up not to mention how great of a read it is. Another notable thing about Kaur’s way of writing is the use of small letters and minimal use of punctuation marks. Beauty of poetry I guess.

Overall, I’d say that ‘milk and honey’ is a must read and suitable for all genders. I’ll never stress enough how important it is to respect the female figure but someday I really look forward to jump up and down at how women are being ordained their rightful respect and value in the society. I’m hopeful that this day will finally come to pass. I just wish it was here already like yesterday.

About Rupi Kaur (Goodreads)

Rupi Kaur is a writer and artist based in Toronto, Canada. With a focus in poetry, she released her first book of prose and poems in November 2014. Throughout her poetry, photography, illustrations, and creative direction she engages with themes of femininity, love, loss, trauma, and healing. When she is not writing or creating art, she is travelling internationally to perform her spoken word poetry, as well as hosting writing workshops. You can find more of her work at www.rupikaur.com.

 

Have you read the book? What are your thoughts about it?

XXX

L

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: milk and honey by rupi kaur”

  1. Great review dear. I haven’t read any poems since high school. I have seen this title around but didn’t know its poetry. It does sound amazing though and your review does justice to the book. Color me intrigued!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dee for stopping by and the compliment. I too didn’t have the interest of poetry after school because I used to find it the most boring bit of literature but my book club had me thinking otherwise. The poetry texts we’ve been having lately are quite interesting. You have to read it soon. I’ll message you

      Like

Leave a Reply

